Living Plans · Public assumption audit
Evidence pass 2026-09-19 · open sources only
Public assumption audit · Kemira Oyj
Updated long-term financial targets: profitable growth and a structurally higher margin
Kemira raised its long-term targets in September 2024: organic growth above 4% a year, an operative EBITDA margin of 18–21%, operative ROCE above 16%. Its own half-year report of 17 July 2026 puts the margin at 16.1%, ROCE at 13.5% and organic revenue at minus 2%.
04
Broken
01
Unresolved
01
Holds
- Document
- Updated long-term financial targets: profitable growth and a structurally higher margin
- Organisation
- Kemira Oyj
- Published
- 2024-09-25
- Audited
- 2026-09-19
- Assumptions
- 6 extracted, 6 checked
- Sources
- 6 public, 4 dated
§ 01 · How this was made
01
The document, as published
We read only what the organisation published itself, at the address above. Nothing is inferred about its private intentions.
02
Assumptions, in its own words
Each assumption is a belief the plan needs to be true, quoted back to the sentence it came from. Goals and values are not assumptions.
03
Two searches each
One search for what the record says, one aimed at finding the contradiction. The verdict follows the sources, and the sources are listed.
Draft · machine-written, unsigned. No person at Kemira Oyj has been asked to sign any verdict here, and none of it is a decision. In the paid product a named human signs or rejects every break, which is what makes the record defensible. This audit is the method shown in public on a document anyone can check.
- Assumption 01Broken
Kemira can sustain average annual organic revenue growth above 4% over the long term.
- Stated in the document as
- “Kemira's target for average annual organic growth has been changed to over 4% (previously: above-the market growth)”
- What rests on it
- The 4%-plus organic growth target becomes unachievable if underlying market growth is lower.
Verdict · Broken · draft, unsigned
The assumption is that Kemira can sustain average annual organic revenue growth above 4% over the long term. Kemira's own half-year report dated 17 July 2026 states that revenue in local currencies, excluding acquisitions and divestments, decreased by 2% in both Q2 2026 and January–June 2026. This is the same measure the assumption asserts — organic revenue growth — reported by Kemira itself, for the most recent period on record. A sustained decline in organic revenue is on the wrong side of the 4%-plus target and moving away from it.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Apr-Jun 2026
Q2 2026 revenue in local currencies excluding acquisitions and divestments decreased by 2%, with weak end-market demand cited as a continuing condition.
Attachments: Kemira Oyj Half Year financial report · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Jun 2026
Revenue in local currencies, excluding acquisitions and divestments, decreased by 2% in Jan–Jun 2026, with sales prices declining and volumes stable.
Kemira Oyj's Half-Year Financial Report 2026 · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-half-year-financial-report-2026-profitability-weakened-by-cost-inflation-performance-improvement-measures-continue/
- Assumption 02Broken
Kemira's operative EBITDA margin can be sustained structurally in the 18–21% range.
- Stated in the document as
- “the operative EBITDA margin target has been increased to 18–21% (previously 15–18%)”
- What rests on it
- The raised EBITDA margin target band of 18–21% is invalidated if margins revert toward the prior 15–18% range.
Verdict · Broken · draft, unsigned
Kemira's own Half-Year Financial Report, published 17 July 2026, reports an operative EBITDA margin of 16.7% for January–June 2026 and 16.1% for Q2 2026. Both figures are below the 18% floor of the 18–21% target band the assumption asserts can be sustained structurally. The assumption is that the margin can be held within 18–21%; the latest reported period shows it has fallen to 16–17%, which is within the prior 15–18% range the raised target was meant to supersede.
Evidence trail · 3 sources
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Jun 2026
Kemira's Half-Year Report records operative EBITDA margin of 16.7% for Jan–Jun 2026 and 16.1% for Q2 2026, both below the 18% floor of the stated target band.
Attachments: Kemira Oyj Half-Year Financial Report 2026 · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- SupportsPublished 2026-02-12Figures for Jan-Dec 2025
The 2025 full-year operative EBITDA margin was 19.1%, within the 18–21% band, per the Financial Statements Bulletin 2025.
Kemira Oyj's Financial Statements Bulletin 2025: Solid profitability in a continued weak market environment · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-financial-statements-bulletin-2025-solid-profitability-in-a-continued-weak-market-environment/
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2023–2025
Kemira's investor page shows operative EBITDA margins of 19.1% (2025), 19.9% (2024) and 19.7% (2023), all within the target band.
Financial information - Kemira · https://www.kemira.com/investors/financial-information/
- Assumption 03Broken
Kemira can achieve an operative return on capital employed above 16% on a sustained basis.
- Stated in the document as
- “Operative ROCE of over 16% has been added as the new third target.”
- What rests on it
- The new ROCE target of over 16% is unachievable if capital base grows faster than operating profit.
Verdict · Broken · draft, unsigned
Kemira's own Half-Year Report dated 17 July 2026 reports operative ROCE (12-month rolling) at 13.5% as of April–June 2026, against a target of over 16%. The same report shows the measure was 16.5% for full-year 2025 and has since fallen 3 percentage points, moving away from the target. The assumption asserts operative ROCE above 16% on a sustained basis; the latest reported figure is 13.5% and declining.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Dec 2025
The same key figures table shows operative ROCE at 16.5% for Jan-Dec 2025, confirming the measure has since deteriorated by 3 percentage points.
Kemira Oyj — Half-Year Financial Report 2026 (stock exchange release attachment) · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Apr-Jun 2026
Kemira's Half-Year Report 2026 reports operative ROCE (12-month rolling) at 13.5% as of April–June 2026, down from 18.5% a year earlier and 16.5% at full-year 2025.
Kemira Oyj's Half-Year Financial Report 2026: Profitability weakened by cost inflation, performance improvement measures continue · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-half-year-financial-report-2026-profitability-weakened-by-cost-inflation-performance-improvement-measures-continue/
- Assumption 04Broken
Demand from water-intensive industries served by Kemira will grow at a rate supporting above-4% organic expansion.
- Stated in the document as
- “Kemira is a global leader in sustainable chemical solutions for water-intensive industries.”
- What rests on it
- The 4%-plus organic growth target relies on end-market demand growing sufficiently to support it.
Verdict · Broken · draft, unsigned
Kemira's own Half-Year Financial Report for January–June 2026 reports that organic revenue (local currencies, excluding acquisitions and divestments) fell 2% year-on-year. The assumption requires end-market demand to be growing sufficiently to support above-4% organic expansion; the reported organic revenue change is negative, directly contradicting that requirement.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Apr-Jun 2026
Q2 2026 organic revenue decreased by 2%; CEO notes lower demand particularly in packaging, pulp and industrial water, with market environment described as 'volatile and soft'.
Attachments: Kemira Oyj Half Year financial report · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Jun 2026
Jan–Jun 2026 organic revenue (local currencies, excluding acquisitions and divestments) decreased by 2%; outlook assumptions state end-market demand 'remains weak due to continued global economic uncertainty and geopolitical tensions'.
Kemira Oyj's Half-Year Financial Report 2026: Profitability weakened by cost inflation, performance improvement measures continue · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-half-year-financial-report-2026-profitability-weakened-by-cost-inflation-performance-improvement-measures-continue/
- Assumption 05Unresolved
Kemira's competitive position in pulp, paper and water treatment chemicals is sufficient to grow at or above market rates.
- Stated in the document as
- “Our customers include industrial and municipal water treatment operators, and pulp & paper industry among others.”
- What rests on it
- Above-market organic growth assumption underpinning the 4% target fails if Kemira loses market share.
Verdict · Unresolved · draft, unsigned
The assumption asserts that Kemira grows at or above the rate of its served markets. The half-year report dated 17 July 2026 shows Kemira's own organic revenue fell 2% in Jan–Jun 2026, but no dated source reports what the pulp, paper and water treatment chemical markets grew at over the same period. Without a market growth figure for the same period, it is not possible to say whether Kemira's performance was above or below the market rate.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- ContextPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Apr-Jun 2026
Q2 2026 organic revenue decreased 2% in local currencies, with lower demand cited specifically in packaging, pulp and industrial water business.
Attachments: Kemira Oyj Half Year financial report · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- ContextPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Jun 2026
Jan–Jun 2026 organic revenue in local currencies excluding acquisitions fell 2%, with Fiber Essentials and Packaging & Hygiene Solutions both declining year-on-year.
Kemira Oyj's Half-Year Financial Report 2026 · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-half-year-financial-report-2026-profitability-weakened-by-cost-inflation-performance-improvement-measures-continue/
- Assumption 06Holds
Kemira's dividend will remain competitive and increase over time, consistent with the unchanged dividend policy.
- Stated in the document as
- “Kemira aims at a competitive and over-time increasing dividend.”
- What rests on it
- The dividend policy commitment is undermined if earnings growth or cash generation falls short.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
Kemira's own dividend history shows per-share dividends rising every year from EUR 0.56 (2019) to EUR 0.76 (2025), with the 2025 dividend approved at EUR 0.76 versus EUR 0.74 in 2024. However, H1 2026 EPS (diluted) fell to EUR 0.52 from EUR 0.73, and full-year 2026 operative EBITDA is guided at EUR 400–500 million against EUR 524.6 million in 2025, placing the next dividend increase under material pressure.
Evidence trail · 4 sources
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Dec 2025 vs 2026 outlook
Full-year 2026 operative EBITDA is guided at EUR 400–500 million, materially below the EUR 524.6 million reported for Jan-Dec 2025.
Kemira Oyj — Half-Year Financial Report 2026 (stock exchange release attachment) · https://view.news.eu.nasdaq.com/view?id=b2a6e5a579e027e4de566a975025efb8b&lang=en
- ContradictsPublished 2026-07-17Figures for Jan-Jun 2026
H1 2026 diluted EPS fell to EUR 0.52 from EUR 0.73 in H1 2025, a 29% decline, driven by cost inflation and lower prices.
Kemira Oyj's Half-Year Financial Report 2026: Profitability weakened by cost inflation, performance improvement measures continue · https://www.kemira.com/news-and-stories/newsroom/releases/kemira-oyjs-half-year-financial-report-2026-profitability-weakened-by-cost-inflation-performance-improvement-measures-continue/
- ContextPublished 2026-02-12Figures for Jan-Dec 2025
Full-year 2025 cash flow from operating activities was EUR 378.2 million, down from EUR 484.6 million in 2024.
January-December 2025 - Financial Statements Bulletin - Kemira · https://www.kemira.com/app/uploads/2026/02/kemira-oyj_financial-statements-bulletin-2025.pdf
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2019–2025
Kemira's dividend page shows per-share dividends rising consecutively from EUR 0.56 (2019) to EUR 0.76 (2025), approved at the March 2026 AGM.
Dividend - Kemira · https://www.kemira.com/investors/share-information/dividend/
§ 05 · One ask
Next week's audit, by email, the day it is published.
One document a week, its assumptions, the verdicts and the sources. Nothing else is ever sent to this list.
The uncomfortable version of this page, about your plan.
Send the strategy you already have. The register of the assumptions it rests on comes back free, in your own sentences. The evidence pass is €390, VAT excluded, and every verdict arrives with the dated sources behind it.