Living Plans · Public assumption audit
Evidence pass 2026-09-24 · open sources only
Public assumption audit · Wärtsilä Corporation
New targets for the combined Marine and Energy business: growth, margin and a balance sheet with room to spare
Wärtsilä set new financial targets in April 2025: 5% annual organic growth and a 14% operating margin for Marine and Energy combined, gearing below 0.5 and a dividend of at least half of earnings. Its own reporting — the FY2025 bulletin of 4 February 2026 and the half-year report of 21 July 2026 — shows organic growth of 15% in 2025 and 6% in H1 2026, a comparable operating margin that touched 14.0% in Q2 2026, gearing at -0.68 and a 2025 payout of 99.7%. Seven assumptions checked, seven hold — the strongest verdict the public audit has produced, with the 14% margin the one to watch at the next report.
00
Broken
00
Unresolved
07
Holds
- Document
- New targets for the combined Marine and Energy business: growth, margin and a balance sheet with room to spare
- Organisation
- Wärtsilä Corporation
- Published
- 2025-04-01
- Audited
- 2026-09-24
- Assumptions
- 7 extracted, 7 checked
- Sources
- 13 public, 6 dated
Audited from: https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information/financial-targets-and-achievements
§ 01 · How this was made
01
The document, as published
We read only what the organisation published itself, at the address above. Nothing is inferred about its private intentions.
02
Assumptions, in its own words
Each assumption is a belief the plan needs to be true, quoted back to the sentence it came from. Goals and values are not assumptions.
03
Two searches each
One search for what the record says, one aimed at finding the contradiction. The verdict follows the sources, and the sources are listed.
Draft · machine-written, unsigned. No person at Wärtsilä Corporation has been asked to sign any verdict here, and none of it is a decision. In the paid product a named human signs or rejects every break, which is what makes the record defensible. This audit is the method shown in public on a document anyone can check.
Nothing in this state.
Nothing in this state.
- Assumption 01Holds
Wärtsilä's combined Marine and Energy net sales can grow at 5% per year on an organic basis.
- Stated in the document as
- “5% annual organic growth”
- What rests on it
- The 5% organic growth target for the combined Marine and Energy segment.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
In H1 2026, Marine and Energy combined organic net sales growth was 6% (Jan–Jun 2026). Full-year 2025 organic net sales growth for Marine and Energy combined was reported at a level consistent with strong outperformance of the 5% target, and H1 2026 continues at or above 5% organically.
Evidence trail · 4 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for January–June 2026
Net sales for Marine and Energy combined organic growth was 6% in both Q2 2026 and H1 2026, per the Half-year Financial Report.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- SupportsPublished 2026-02-04Figures for January–December 2025
The Financial Statements Bulletin reports Marine and Energy combined organic net sales growth of 15% for full-year 2025 (Q4 alone: 23%), far exceeding the 5% target.
Wärtsilä's Financial Statements Bulletin January–December 2025 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/04-02-2026-wartsila-s-financial-statements-bulletin-january-december-2025-3713746
- Contextdate not stated
Morningstar notes Wärtsilä's medium-term target is 5% annual top-line growth, and its 10-year sales CAGR estimate of ~4.5% broadly aligns with that target.
Wärtsilä Targets Growth Amid Shipping Decarbonization and Energy Storage Boom · https://global.morningstar.com/en-nd/stocks/wrtsila-targets-growth-amid-shipping-decarbonization-energy-storage-boom
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2025
Full-year 2025 net sales grew 7% to EUR 6,914 million; organic net sales growth was 15% per the financial targets page.
Financial targets and achievements - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information/financial-targets-and-achievements
- Assumption 02Holds
Wärtsilä's combined Marine and Energy segment can sustain a 14% operating margin.
- Stated in the document as
- “14% operating margin”
- What rests on it
- The 14% operating margin target for the combined Marine and Energy segment.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
In Q2 2026, the comparable operating result reached exactly 14.0% of net sales, matching the target. For H1 2026, the comparable operating margin was 13.7%, with the trend moving toward the 14% target.
Evidence trail · 4 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for April–June 2026
The comparable operating result for April–June 2026 increased to EUR 218 million, representing 14.0% of net sales (12.7).
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- ContextPublished 2026-04-28Figures for January–March 2026
In January–March 2026, the comparable operating result was EUR 199 million, representing 12.8% of net sales (11.0).
Wärtsilä's Interim Report January–March 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/28-04-2026-wartsila-s-interim-report-january-march-2026-3744975
- Contextdate not stated
The financial targets page lists 14% operating margin as the stated target for Marine and Energy combined.
Financial targets and achievements - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information/financial-targets-and-achievements
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2025
In 2025, Marine and Energy combined organic net sales growth was 15% and operating margin was 13.8%, just below the 14% target.
Annual Report - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/reports-presentations/annual-report
- Assumption 03Holds
Wärtsilä's gearing ratio will remain below 0.5 at group level.
- Stated in the document as
- “Gearing below 0.5”
- What rests on it
- The group-level gearing target of below 0.5.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
The Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 PDF reports gearing of -0.68 for the period 1–6/2026, well below the 0.5 target. The Q1 2026 interim report PDF shows gearing of -0.65 as at end-March 2026; the 2025 full-year figure was -0.70.
Evidence trail · 4 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-02-04Figures for Jan–Dec 2025
The Financial Statements Bulletin reports gearing of -0.70 for full-year 2025, versus -0.31 for full-year 2024.
Wärtsilä's Financial Statements Bulletin January–December 2025 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/04-02-2026-wartsila-s-financial-statements-bulletin-january-december-2025-3713746
- ContextPublished 2026-07-21Figures for 1-6/2026
The H1 2026 PDF reports net interest-bearing debt of EUR -1,719 million and gearing of -0.68 for January–June 2026.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 (PDF) · https://mb.cision.com/Main/15003/4376315/4199237.pdf
- ContextPublished 2026-04-28Figures for 1–3/2026
The Q1 2026 interim report PDF records net interest-bearing debt of EUR -1,567 million and gearing of -0.65 at end of March 2026.
Interim Report January-March 2026 – Wärtsilä PDF · https://www.wartsila.com/docs/default-source/investors/financial-materials/interim-reports/w%C3%A4rtsil%C3%A4-interim-report-january-march-2026.pdf?sfvrsn=ed651b42_1
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2024
The Annual Report 2024 states gearing was -0.31 in 2024 and lists 'Gearing <0.50' as a stated strategic target.
Annual Report 2024 – Wärtsilä PDF · https://www.wartsila.com/docs/default-source/investors/financial-materials/annual-reports/w%C3%A4rtsil%C3%A4_annual-report_2024.pdf?sfvrsn=b1cd5042_3
- Assumption 04Holds
Wärtsilä will generate sufficient earnings to distribute a dividend of at least 50% of earnings per share.
- Stated in the document as
- “Distribute a dividend of at least 50% of earnings”
- What rests on it
- The group dividend policy of distributing at least 50% of earnings.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
For 2025, EPS was EUR 1.06 and dividend per share was EUR 1.06, a payout ratio of 99.7%. For 2024, EPS EUR 0.85 and dividend EUR 0.44 gave 51.6%. H1 2026 EPS of EUR 0.50 is ahead of H1 2025 EUR 0.44, confirming continued earnings growth supporting the policy.
Evidence trail · 5 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for January–June 2026
H1 2026 earnings per share increased to EUR 0.50 (from EUR 0.44 in H1 2025), indicating continued earnings growth supporting future dividend capacity.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2025
The financial information page records dividends paid of EUR 625 million for 2025 against EPS of EUR 1.06, confirming the 50% policy was met and exceeded.
Financial information - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information
- Contextdate not stated
Wärtsilä's stated dividend policy is to pay at least 50% of earnings, as published on the dividends page.
Dividends - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information/dividends
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2025
The Board proposed a total dividend of EUR 1.06 per share (base EUR 0.54 plus extraordinary EUR 0.52) for financial year 2025, against EPS of EUR 1.06.
Annual Report - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/reports-presentations/annual-report
- Contextdate not statedFigures for 2025
For 2025, EPS was EUR 1.06 and dividend per share was EUR 1.06, giving dividend/earnings of 99.7%, well above the 50% policy threshold.
Key share figures - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/shares/key-share-figures
- Assumption 05Holds
The Energy Storage joint venture established in 2026 will remove Energy Storage from Wärtsilä's consolidated reporting segments.
- Stated in the document as
- “On 15 June 2026, Wärtsilä announced the establishment of a joint venture for its Energy Storage business, and in the second quarter of 2026 Wärtsilä Energy Storage will cease to be a separate reporting segment.”
- What rests on it
- Suspension of Energy Storage financial targets and demand guidance from Q2 2026.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
The Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 states explicitly that Energy Storage was classified as assets held for sale and discontinued operations in June 2026 and discontinued as a reportable segment, with comparative 2025 and H1 2026 figures restated accordingly. The Q1 2026 interim report still carried Energy Storage as a separate reporting segment with its own outlook, confirming the change occurred in Q2 2026 as stated.
Evidence trail · 4 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for January–June 2026
The Half-year report states Energy Storage was classified as discontinued operations in June 2026 and discontinued as a reportable segment, with 2025 and H1 2026 comparatives restated.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- SupportsPublished 2026-06-15
An investor presentation states separate segment reporting for Energy Storage will end in Q2 2026 and its financial targets and demand guidance will be suspended.
Wärtsilä to establish a joint venture for its global Energy Storage business – investor call presentation · https://www.wartsila.com/docs/default-source/investors/financial-materials/other-ir-presentations/investor-call-15-june.pdf?sfvrsn=1373e242_1
- SupportsPublished 2026-04-28Figures for January–March 2026
The Q1 2026 interim report carried a separate Energy Storage demand outlook for Q2/2026–Q1/2027, confirming it was still a reportable segment as of Q1 2026.
Wärtsilä's Interim Report January–March 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/28-04-2026-wartsila-s-interim-report-january-march-2026-3744975
- Contextdate not stated
Wärtsilä's financial targets page states that in Q2 2026 Energy Storage will cease to be a separate reporting segment following the 15 June 2026 joint venture announcement.
Financial targets and achievements - Wärtsilä · https://www.wartsila.com/investors/financial-information/financial-targets-and-achievements
- Assumption 06Holds
Marine vessel demand will grow sufficiently to support organic revenue growth in Wärtsilä's Marine segment.
- Stated in the document as
- “5% annual organic growth”
- What rests on it
- The 5% organic growth target depends on sustained end-market demand in marine.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
In H1 2026, Marine and Energy combined net sales grew organically by 6%, and Q2 2026 Marine order intake reached a record high. Wärtsilä's own H1 2026 report confirms organic net sales growth of 5% total and 6% for Marine and Energy combined, consistent with the 5% annual organic growth target.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for January–June 2026
Net sales for Marine and Energy combined grew organically by 6% in H1 2026, with total organic net sales growth of 5%, meeting the 5% target.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- SupportsPublished 2026-04-28Figures for January–March 2026
In Q1 2026, newbuild vessel orders reached 549, compared to 235 in Q1 2025, indicating markedly increased marine market activity.
Wärtsilä's Interim Report January–March 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/28-04-2026-wartsila-s-interim-report-january-march-2026-3744975
- Assumption 07Holds
Energy market demand for Wärtsilä's power plant and services offerings will grow at a rate consistent with 5% organic revenue growth.
- Stated in the document as
- “5% annual organic growth”
- What rests on it
- The 5% organic growth target depends on sustained end-market demand in energy.
Verdict · Holds · draft, unsigned
The H1 2026 report shows total organic net sales growth of 5% in both Q2 2026 and January–June 2026, with Energy demand described as at record levels and outlook for the next 12 months remaining strong. The 2025 full-year bulletin confirms organic order intake growth of 6%, consistent with the 5% target.
Evidence trail · 2 sources
- SupportsPublished 2026-07-21Figures for January–June 2026
Total net sales organic growth was 5% in both Q2 2026 and H1 2026; Marine and Energy combined organic net sales growth was 6% in both periods.
Wärtsilä's Half-year Financial Report January–June 2026 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/21-07-2026-wartsila-s-half-year-financial-report-january-june-2026-3773763?hostName=www.wartsila.com
- SupportsPublished 2026-02-04Figures for 1–12/2025
In 2025, Wärtsilä's total net sales grew organically by 11% and order intake organically by 6%, both consistent with or above the 5% annual organic growth target.
Wärtsilä's Financial Statements Bulletin January–December 2025 · https://www.wartsila.com/media/news/04-02-2026-wartsila-s-financial-statements-bulletin-january-december-2025-3713746
§ 05 · One ask
Next week's audit, by email, the day it is published.
One document a week, its assumptions, the verdicts and the sources. Nothing else is ever sent to this list.
The uncomfortable version of this page, about your plan.
Send the strategy you already have. The register of the assumptions it rests on comes back free, in your own sentences. The evidence pass is €390, VAT excluded, and every verdict arrives with the dated sources behind it.